Adventures In Grilling

A few things come to mind when I think of summers in California. Sunshine, the beach, and grilling in the backyard. So to gear up for this summer, I bought a Huntington Patriot Series Grill. Four burners on the main grill, plus an extra side burner for cooking food in pots and pans. 50,000 BTU of fire and power at my fingertips. The grill was a complete pain to put together, but now it’s my favorite piece of cooking equipment.

Over the last two months I have really put some mileage on my new purchase. Below are just a few notable snippets from my adventures in grilling.

Lamb Rib Chops:

My greatest achievement in grilling yet! This was my first time ever cooking lamb chops so I just experimented with ingredients I had in the cupboard. I seasoned the chops with coarse salt, fresh ground pepper, garlic powder, and a little ginger powder. The butcher at Whole Foods instructed that I grill the chops about 5 minutes on each side, but because the chops were so thick I found about 7 minutes on each side yielded the perfect medium rare.

Duck Breast:

Grilled duck breast is one of my favorite things to eat ever. Charred and crispy on the outside, medium rare on the inside. I prepared it by scoring the skin side, then seasoned it with coarse salt and fresh ground pepper for the grill. Always grill the skin side first to get some of that fat out as duck breast has a high fat content under the skin. The duck breast was later paired with a reduced fruit sauce for some major noms.

Rib Eye and Veggies:

Rib eye from Whole Foods. Seasoned with salt, fresh ground pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. As the rib eye was pretty thick, grilled for about 10 minutes on each side for medium rare (see picture below for perfect medium rare). Also on the grill: asparagus, carrots, mushroom and yellow bell peppers. All were coated with some extra virgin olive oil and salt.

Pork Chops and Carrots:

Seasoned the pork chops with salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder and some other herbs I found in my cupboard. Grilled a couple minutes on each side to ensure it was cooked thoroughly but still juicy. Came out super flavorful, but I’ll need to play with some other seasonings in the future to kick the pork chops up a notch.

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

One comment

  1. shellyinreallife

    i love this post. yeaaa grill masta!!!!

Leave a Reply

