PPQ got crabs (and they are delicious)

PPQ
2332 Clement Street, San Francisco, CA
Website: www.ppqdungeness.com
Yelp: http://www.yelp.com/biz/ppq-dungeness-island-vietnamese-cuisine-san-francisco

For the past year, I kept hearing about PPQ and their amazing crab. And I kept telling myself I would go, except I kept putting it off. You know how these things are – work gets busy and before you know it you’re eating McDonald’s or Panda Express for dinner. But luckily I found some time out of my schedule and finally went to this amazing place to get my crab on.

PPQ is a Vietnamese restaurant in the Outer Richmond district of San Francisco. They are specifically known for their crab and garlic noodles, two things that I am always down to eat. But before you head on over, you should know that they are closed Tuesdays. Yes, Tuesdays – super random day. I learned this the hard way when I tried going on a Tuesday night and it was closed. I proceeded to curl up into a ball and cry myself to sleep that night, but that’s neither here nor there.

Anyway, back to the food! PPQ had some of the best crab I have ever had in my opinion. We ordered the Peppercorn Crab (pictured above), the Roasted Crab (below), and the garlic noodles. The Peppercorn was first steamed, and then pan fried with tons of peppercorns and garlic. The crab meat wasn’t mushy at all (I hate when crab meat is mushy) and there was tons of pepper-y and garlic-y flavor. The peppercorn gave it a good spicy kick but it wasn’t too overpowering. And I love little bits of fried garlic so that was super amazing. Also, the garlic went well with the garlic noodles.

The second crab, the Roasted Crab, was steamed with a lot of garlic and a white wine/lemon/butter sauce. And when I say butter, I mean Paula Dean status butter. There was so much butter in that thing I thought my arteries would clog up after dinner. Except the butter made it sooooo good. The crab, especially after you dip it in the sauce, had such a great aroma of garlic, lemon and butter. And since the sauce was pretty sweet, it worked really well when mixed with the garlic noodles (which were a little too dry). And again, this crab was cooked perfectly – great texture and although there was sauce, the distinct taste of fresh crab meat was still there. Overall just a really really well done crab.

And before I forget, I must also mention the guts/brains/insides of the crab. I don’t really know what you call it in English but I’m referring to the super high cholesterol part inside the crab cover. It was SO GOOD. Juicy, creamy, tasty and melts in your mouth like butter. None of us could get enough of it.

If you like eating crab, I would definitely recommend PPQ to you. I am going to go back and try the other crab preparations so I can see which is the best. And to be honest, it wasn’t as expensive as I thought it would be. Each crab was probably $30-35, and I had leftovers to take home (granted we ordered a 2 person set dinner plus an extra crab, so there were also spring rolls). Two thumbs up, five stars, 10/10. Perfect score for PPQ!

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

Leave a Reply

