Creme Brulee, success!

After talking about it for a year, I FINALLY made creme brulee. And I’m excited to say it was a complete and absolute success!

I had a special guest come over for dinner and decided to cap off the night with creme brulee for dessert. I had always wanted to prepare this dessert, but for one reason or another it was pushed back until now. I followed Alton Brown’s recipe from Food Network (recipe found here) and made a few minor adjustments for personal preference and accessibility.

For example, I did not have vanilla bean so I used vanilla extract. I used 7 egg yolks instead of 6 because I wanted a richer flavor. I also did not have a torch so I used the broiler in my oven. The trick is to turn the broiler up way high, to about 450 degrees or more and spread the sugar evenly so that you can get that nice sugar coat on top. My first batch didn’t turn out as well because I did not figure this out until the second batch, and therefore when you look at the pictures you’ll see that only the edges really browned. I did not use high enough heat during the first batch. Also, be sure to keep an eye on it so it doesn’t get too burnt.

I did all the prep the night before, and left it in the fridge for almost 24 hours. The next night during dinner, I took them out and popped them back into the oven to broil it for the sugar on top. Worked like a charm. I also served it with a side of Ben & Jerry’s Coffee Heath Bar Crunch ice cream. The vanilla and coffee went surprisingly well together.

All in all, this was very successful and a lot easier to make than I had imagined! Definitely check out the recipe for your next dinner party and be prepared to be complimented. I believe the reactions I received included, “This is super amazing and delicious” and also “The creme brulee was heeeelllaaaaa good!” I couldn’t have asked for a better way to cap off the night.

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

2 comments

  1. Tes

    You’ve done an amazing job. It looks so yummy. I can’t wait to bake some.

  2. Pingback: Recipe: Green Tea Creme Brulee « eatingwithderek

Leave a Reply

