The Village Bistro doesn’t disappoint with its brunch

null

For those who don’t know, I am a complete sucker for breakfast food.  I can eat breakfast for any meal and all day every day.  So when I had to meet up with someone for lunch today, I decided to go for brunch at The Village Bistro and Wine Bar at Santana Row in San Jose.  This place did not disappoint with its food and service, and I’m really glad I chose to come here to fulfill my brunch craving.

Dungeness Crab Eggs Benedict

For a Sunday, Santana Row was definitely not very busy this afternoon so we only had to wait about 5-10 minutes for our table for two today.  To be honest though, The Village didn’t have too many options in terms of breakfast foods during this brunch.  However, from the moment I saw it on the menu, I knew I wanted to order the Dungeness Crab Eggs Benedict (I’m also a sucker for eggs benedict).

The dungeness crab was prepared in a crab cake and the dish also came with herb roasted potatoes.  First of all, the potatoes were excellent.  Although the menu said they are roasted, I think they also fried them afterward so it had a roasted potato flavor with almost a fries type of feel.  The poached eggs were also great – soft on the outside, runny yolks on the inside (just the way I like them).  The only thing is, I wish the eggs were a little bit bigger because I feel like I finished the eggs a lot quicker than the crab cakes.

Crab cakes

But perhaps the best part about this dish was the crab cakes themselves.  The crab cakes were perfectly prepared – it had the right amount of fried crunch on the outside but the crab inside was buttery soft.  When I cut open the egg and the yolk combined with the crab cake, it made for a perfect combination.  In addition, this benedict came with a basil hollandaise sauce rather than the typical yellow hollandaise.  It was a perfect combination and wasn’t overpowering or heavy.  Absolutely delicious.  I can safely say this is one of the best crab cake eggs benedict I’ve had, and I’ve had quite a few of them in my day.

Three Egg Scramble

We also ordered the Three Egg Scramble, which gave the choice of three ingredients and also included the roasted potatoes and a buttermilk biscuit.  It was kinda dumb since they didn’t actually include the ingredients to choose from on the menu, so we had to ask the waiter and he had to list out ten or so options for us.  The scramble itself was good – the eggs were perfectly cooked and they gave a lot of ingredients (mushrooms, sausage, can’t remember the third…).  However, this dish was definitely something I could make at home myself so I wasn’t too impressed.

Finally, there was something I saw on the menu that I just couldn’t pass up.  Creamy Truffle Mac & Cheese. I’m glad I ordered it because it was SO GOOD.  First of all it was super creamy.  The macaroni was soft but not overdone.  The cheese was very creamy and delicious.  The truffle gave it a great sweetness and the bread crumbs that topped it gave it a nice texture and contrast.  The portion size was also decent, but because it is so creamy and cheesy, there is really no way you can finish an order by yourself anyway.  The two of us were only able to finish half of the order.

Creamy Truffle Mac & Cheese

Overall I had a pretty good experience at The Village.  The service was good, the food was tasty, and it was a nice place to go for a weekend brunch.  The meal also wasn’t very expensive – it cost $40 for the three dishes plus an orange juice, and there was enough left over for another whole meal.  As with most places in Santana Row that I’ve reviewed, I recommend checking it out.

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

One comment

  1. sarina

    mushroom, spicy sausage, and onion!

Leave a Reply

