San Pedro Farmer’s Market in San Jose

During my lunch break today, I took a stroll through the San Pedro Farmer’s Market in San Jose.  Every Friday, a portion of San Pedro street is closed off to hold a farmer’s market where vendors set up shop to sell their products.  Products include produce, vegetables, flowers, spices, food, as well as other knick knacks.  Most vendors let you try their fruit before you buy it, and the prices don’t seem too bad (although I don’t have much to compare to since I don’t go to farmer’s markets often.  I ended up buying 3 pounds of peaches and nectarines, and at $1 per pound, it equated to about 6 pieces of whole fruit for $3.

It was about 1:15pm when I stopped by, but it wasn’t very crowded at all.  I think it is because most people go during their lunch breaks (usually around 12pm) so I just missed the rush.  In addition, there was even a guy playing live music for your enjoyment!  But the truth is, you should know how to pick out good fruit and vegetables before going to any farmer’s market because the vendor I bought from wasn’t very helpful.  I had to call my mom and ask her how to pick out good peaches and nectarines because I had no clue how to pick the ripe ones.  I haven’t tried any yet, but once I do I will let you guys know if it is any good and whether you should check out this farmer’s market.

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

2 comments

  1. So what advice did your Mom give you about picking out the peaches? Inquiring minds want to know. 🙂
    I usually smell them. And then I try to find ones that are at least a little soft, hoping that they were picked right off the tree that way. So many are rock hard, and even if they do get soft after being left out on the counter for a few days, the flavor just never develops fully.

    • eatingwithderek

      Wow what an honor to have you comment on my blog Carolyn! I’m a big fan of your blog and writings and I can only imagine how great your job is since you’re surrounded by food all the time.

      But back to the advice – my mom told me to first determine when I will eat it – in the next 2 or 3 days or later. If I am going to eat them soon, I should find ones that are at least a little soft (like you said) so they are ready to eat. She said not to get the really soft ones though because they will probably be too ripe.

      If I’m not planning to eat it for 3+ days, then I should get some that are a little harder (but not rock hard – again like you mentioned) so that they will ripen in those few days you wait. Next time, I will take your advice and also smell them to see if I can tell the difference.

      Thank you for reading my blog!

Leave a Reply

