Recipe: Boneless Pork Loin Roast

Originally posted on August 3, 2009

Tonight I cooked pork loin roast and it was an absolute success.  I think it was the best thing I have ever cooked in my life actually.  It came out very well seasoned and flavorful, and it was very juicy.  It was something I decided to try on a limb and I feel like I have outdone myself on this one.

So I bought a fresh boneless pork loin roast from Safeway for $5.86 (it was probably around 2 lbs, maybe a little less? – hooray for Safeway club card savings).  To prep/marinate it, I first poked a lot of holes in the pork with a fork.  Next, I rubbed the pork all round with salt, ground black pepper, corn starch, paprika (one of my favorite spices now), ground cumin, ground ginger (not too much), and Carl’s prime rib & steak seasoning.  Once I got the surface area covered with the spices, I put it in a zip lock bag with a tiny bit of soy sauce and korean bbq rib marinade.  Then I let it marinate for about an hour and a half in the fridge.

When you’re ready to cook, take the pork out of the fridge and let it sit in room temperature for about 10 minutes to let the meat warm up a bit.  When the meat is ready for cooking, preheat the oven to about 400 degrees F.  At this time you can also get a deep baking tray and wrap it with foil.  Next, head some olive oil into a nonstick (preferably cast iron) skillet and sear all sides of the pork roast to really get flavor from all the spices rubbed in.  I seared all sides of the pork for about 2 minutes each.  Once you get a nice golden brown on all sides of the pork, place the pork in the tray and put it in the oven.

Pork right out of the oven

The pork will be done when the center reaches just around 160 degrees F (around 45 minutes to an hour).  If you don’t have a meat thermometer, get one (because it is useful!) but if you cant, then like I said before, the meat should be cooked through around 45 minutes to an hour, maybe longer if you have a larger/thicker piece of pork.  You don’t want to overcook it in the oven or else it’ll dry out.

Slice and enjoy

Once the meat temperature reaches 160 degrees F, take out the tray, wrap the foil around the pork roast, and let sit for 5 or 10 minutes (as it sits, it will continue cooking inside).  Once that is done, slice and enjoy : )  There will be a lot of juices on the cutting board and in the foil, so take advantage of that!  It makes it that much better.

I placed a couple slices over a salad and ate it that way.  My brother ate it with rice.  It’s up to you to decide what you want to pair the meat with as each person has their own preferences.  Just remember to use some of the leftover juice from the foil because it is amazing.

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

One comment

  1. Great idea this. It is always difficult to thin of varied things to cook especially for a hungry family and some of the ideas here and elsewhere on your site have given me some great ideas so thak you!

Leave a Reply

