Guppy Teahouse a giant brain freeze waiting to happen

Originally posted on July 7, 2009

Giant shaved ice

I met up with a friend in Cerritos, CA down in SoCal this weekend and decided to chill and catch up at Guppy Teahouse.  This place was pretty poppin’ for a Sunday night (probably because kids are on summer vacation and have nothing to do).  There were some larger groups waiting but I only waited about 5 minutes for a table for two.  I liked the atmosphere there just because it was busy and loud and it reminded me of places I would go to chill at home.

The service was subpar.  My friend told me the workers are all mostly high school kids, which would explain why their service was so meh.  So if you go, don’t expect to be treated like you’re in a five star restaurant.

I decided to try their shaved ice since my friend said they’re pretty good and really big.  However, I did not expect the size of the shaved ice to be so enormous.  I ordered a small and it was the size of a party fruit punch bowl (picture above)!  We ordered the mixed fruit shaved ice, which included mangos, bananas, and strawberries.  The fruit was all very fresh and they definitley do not rip you off on the amount of fruit.  The whole top of the bowl was covered with fresh fruit.  Mixed with the condensed milk, it was one of the better shaved ice I’ve had in my life.

Of course, if you’re not into fruit on your shaved ice, they also have options like red bean, etc etc.  There were lots of different options to choose from.  Their menu is pretty extensive – lots of drinks and snacks, as well as full entrees so you can eat lunch or dinner there, not just dessert.  The table next to us ordered a thick toast and it looked pretty damn good.  I was tempted to order it just to try it, but the half uneaten shaved ice staring at me told me no.

I also tried the hot lavender milk tea.  Although it was a little sweet, it was still quite delicious.  I could not finish this either since the shaved ice was so filling.

All in all, I think this is a nice place to hang out with friends if you have nothing better to do.  Go grab a drink/snack/dessert and just chat with good company.  It’s also one of those places where if you live in the area, you’ll probably run into somebody you know (this can either persuade you to go or persuade you to stay away).  Either way, their shaved ice was pretty bomb and I would go back again.

(Photo above courtesy of my friend Jen’s iPhone)

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

Leave a Reply

