Alice Waters of Chez Panisse Fame

Originally posted on August 29, 2009

Alice Waters, founder of Chez Panisse in Berkeley, CA

Alice Waters, chef and owner of Chez Panisse restaurant in Berkeley, CA. CNN Money-Small Business has a great article about Alice Waters, how she started Chez Panisse, and how she transformed it into one of the premiere restaurants in the United States using fresh, locally grown ingredients.  The article is very inspirational for me and has given me direction as to how to pursue my career as a restaurateur in the future.  I can only hope that one day I can find the fulfillment and success that Alice Waters has found.  Plus she graduated from Cal too…GO BEARS!

I had the privilege of eating at the Chez Panisse Cafe a couple months back.  Although it wasn’t my favorite meal ever, I could tell the ingredients were very fresh and I understood the concept and philosophy of the restaurant.  I’m looking forward to when I try the Chez Panisse main restaurant and experience it again knowing the restaurant’s origins.

You can find the article by clicking on the photo above.  Photo courtesy of the the Chez Panisse restaurant website: www.chezpanisse.com

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

Leave a Reply

