LB (Left Bank) Steak has tendency to overcook

Originally posted on August 30, 2009

The decor and design at LB Steak is modern and clean.  Although the lights are very dim, it sets a modern American steakhouse type of mood and makes the restaurant look more upscale.  The front of the restaurant has retractable glass doors so the restaurant can be closed off or it can turn into an open balcony to let fresh air into the space.  For a warm night like tonight, the open air was perfect.  But perhaps the thing that really caught my eye was the kitchen design.  First of all, the kitchen and dining area is separated by an automatic see-through glass door.  It may not sound that cool, but it looks super baller when you’re there.  The kitchen itself is spacious, very modern and very clean with chefs and sou chefs busily running around preparing orders.  It was quite a sight and it was a really cool design to make it seem like an open kitchen with the glass doors.

In terms of the service at LB Steak, it was very good.  Our waitress was very nice, answered all our questions, and even made some small talk with us.  On top of that, one of the managers came over to talk to us as our food was being served.  He saw that I was taking pictures of the food and made conversation about how they prepare the food aesthetically as well.  He was very friendly and definitely knew what he was doing to make a good impression on his guests.

Lobster Tail

Now onto the food!  My brother and I started off with beers.  Their selection of tap beers is limited, but was refreshing nonetheless.  They also have a special where a glass of wine or champagne is $5, which my brother’s girlfriend ordered.  I liked how the beer came in tall pint glasses, but maybe that’s just me.  My brother also started with an order of French Onion Soup (we’re both big fans).  The cheese on the soup was very good, but the soup itself was actually a little bland.  I’ve defiintely had better French Onion Soup elsewhere, but this wasn’t bad.

For the main course, my mother ordered the Grilled 10 oz. Lobster Tail with Lemongrass Beurre Fondue and Napa Cabbage Salad. The presentation was very beautiful and it definitely looked like a winning dish.  However, the lobster was too overdone and that made the lobster meat tough and chewy.  The dish was also overflowing with beans as part of their salad.  Although the taste was there, it was still a shame that the lobster was overcooked and made this dish a little disappointing.

Mussels, Clams and Day Boat Scallops Linguine, chablis garlic herb butter

My brother’s main course was the Mussels, Clams and Day Boat Scallops Linguine with chablis garlic herb butter. This pasta dish was absolutely delicious.  The creaminess of the garlic herb butter sauce was not overbearing and the pasta was a perfect al dente.  The scallops were perfectly seared as well.  The only problem with this dish was the fact that the shellfish still contained some sand, and my brother actually bit so hard on a chunk of sand that it hurt his tooth.  Other than that, it was a great dish.

My brother’s girlfriend ordered the Slow Roasted Sea Bass with asparagus and aged balsamic-bliss vinaigrette. The sea bass was a little overcooked but the flavors were pretty good.  There isn’t much to say about this dish because to be honest it wasn’t really that special.

Pan Seared Colman Natural Pepper Crusted Pork Chop

Finally, I ordered the Pan Seared Colman Natural Pepper Crusted Pork Chop. The pork chops had a lot of flavor and a great glaze on top.  The pepper crust gave it a nice spice.  I was also very surprised and impressed because I detected a hint of mustard/mustard seeds on the crust as well – a very nice surprise indeed.  The only complaint I have about the dish is that I asked for it to be prepared medium and got it pretty well done instead and hence a little dry (hmmm….this seems to be a recurring theme for this restaurant….).  Other than that though, the flavors were all there.  The shallots on the dish were also very good.

Pommes Souffle

In addition to our main course, we also ordered a side of Pommes Souffle. For those who don’t know, they fry the potatoes like wedges, then they suck out all the potato from the inside and fry the skin again before serving it (skin only).  It was very interesting, but super oily.  In fact, I was able to actually pour a puddle of oil off two of them.

After reading this post, you can see why I was just a little disappointed after eating at LB Steak.  Although the food was still very delicious, the chefs tend to have a problem with overcooking the food a bit.  However, I loved the atmosphere, the setting, and the service here.  Also, I came into the restaurant with a critic type of mindset, so that’s why I nitpicked at every little problem.  If I step myself out of that role, I still very much enjoyed my dinner and the food flavors were all quite delicious.  I would definitely come back again to actually try the steak at this steakhouse among other dishes.  I would also recommend that you come here if you’re looking for a fancier type of meal that is still affordable.  I think this would be a great place to take a date.

About eatingwithderek

Just a guy eating his way through life.

One comment

  1. Yes, my pommes souffle were a bit oily, too. Though, it wasn’t dripping with oil like yours were. Goodness! That’s terrible. And grit in shellfish is never a good thing. Sigh. Sorry the experience wasn’t better.

Leave a Reply

